• At present, 33 faculty are elected members of the U.S. National Academy of Sciences, including the president, Arnold J. Levine, Ph.D. Celebrating its centennial anniversary in 2001, Rockefeller the nation's first biomedical research center continues to lead the field in both scientific inquiry and the development of tomorrow's scientists.